The European Union is NOT FOR SALE !

News
USF

The staff of the European institutions is deeply shocked by the corruption scandal (Quatargate) involving the European Parliament, the scope of which are still far from being defined.

First of all, we congratulate the Belgian judiciary and police for their effectiveness in discovering this shameful situation and in prosecuting those responsible. We call on the authorities of the EU and the Member States to relentlessly pursue their investigations in order to establish the whole truth, including the possible inconvenient truths.

The European Union has left lobbyists with large private and public interests (including from third countries) an intolerable margin of intervention in defining and implementing its policies. It is now essential to continue the cleaning work and to identify and punish those responsible in all relevant areas. Mention should be made of the ‘revolving doors’ problem, which tarnishes the image of the European Institutions, especially the Commission.

The recent scandal shakes the European Union and its management. It impacts the trust of all European citizens in those who are supposed to represent them and embody the values of democracy on our continent.

This has undermined the quantity and quality of staff’s continuous efforts to promote the European project for many years.

We will not give up on the unacceptable behavior of a few who undermine the European project and discredit the European civil service that carries it at arm’s length. These events will not discourage the staff of the Commission and the other European Institutions. They will continue to work tirelessly in the general interest, not only of the citizens of the European Union but of the multitude of those around the world who aspire to democracy based on the rule of law and respect for human rights also.

In order to restore its transparency and the citizens’ trust, Europe must prove that it is enabled to clean up itself and work in the public interest.

To all those who believe that they can destroy the reputation of those who dedicate their lives to the European institutions; or to all those who seek to destroy the European civil service, which is by definition democratic and independent of national interests and multinational companies.

We say: No, the European Union is not for sale! We are not for sale, and we will continue to fight for the European ideal and its values.

Latest News

The 2024 Appraisal Exercise Is Launched
USB - Commission

The Institution decided to modify the report with constant rules. It had introduced the merge of 3 sections as well as the possibility of renewing your report.

Read more
From Five to Four, Why Not?
Asmayani Kusrini

However, “Friday is The New Saturday” is not just an ode to change but a pragmatic roadmap for its realization.

Read more
2023 annual update: +2.7 %
USB - Consilium

The updating of salaries and pensions, based on the Method developed by Union Syndicale 50 years ago, is designed to guarantee parallelism with the salaries of civil servants in the Member States.

Read more
BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU SAY !
USF

Find out more about the European Commission’s new social media guidelines and their implications for freedom of expression.

Read more

L’Union Européenne n’est pas à vendre !

News
USF

Le personnel des Institutions européennes est profondément choqué par le scandale de corruption (Qatargate) impliquant le Parlement européen, dont les contours sont encore loin d’être définis. Tout d’abord, nous félicitons la justice et la police belges pour leur efficacité dans la découverte de cette situation honteuse et la poursuite des responsables. Nous appelons les autorités de l’UE et des États membres à poursuivre sans relâche leurs investigations afin d’établir toute la vérité, y compris les vérités qui pourraient s’avérer gênantes.

L’Union européenne a laissé aux lobbyistes des grands intérêts privés et publics (y compris de pays tiers) une marge intolérable d’intervention dans la définition et l’exécution de ses politiques. Il est maintenant essentiel de poursuivre le travail de nettoyage et d’identifier et punir les responsables dans tous les domaines concernés. Rappelons le problème des « portes tournantes » qui ternit l’image des institutions, notamment de la Commission.

Le scandale qui vient d’être révélé jette une ombre sur l’Union européenne et sa gestion et impacte la confiance de tous les citoyens européens envers ceux qui sont censés les représenter et incarner les valeurs de la démocratie sur notre continent.

La quantité et la qualité des efforts ininterrompus du personnel pour promouvoir le projet européen depuis des longues années s’en trouvent ternies.

Nous ne baisserons pas les bras face aux agissements inacceptables de quelques-uns qui portent atteinte au projet européen et jettent du discrédit sur la fonction publique européenne qui le porte à bout de bras. Ces événements ne décourageront pas le personnel de la Commission et des autres Institutions qui continuera à travailler sans relâche dans l’intérêt général non seulement des citoyens de l’Union européenne mais de la multitude de ceux qui dans le monde aspirent à une démocratie basée sur l’État de droit et le respect des droits humains.

Il est urgent de nettoyer les institutions européennes pour restaurer leur transparence et la confiance des citoyens. L’Europe doit prouver qu’elle est capable de s’assainir et de travailler dans l’intérêt général.

À tous ceux qui croient pouvoir détruire la réputation de ceux qui dédient leur vie aux Institutions européennes ou qui visent à détruire la fonction publique européenne, qui est par définition démocratique et indépendante des intérêts nationaux et des multinationales.

Nous disons : Non, l’Union européenne n’est pas à vendre ! Nous ne sommes pas à vendre et nous continuerons à lutter pour l’idéal européen et ses valeurs.

Peut-être aussi intéressant

Actualisation annuelle 2023 : +2,7 %
USB - Consilium

L’actualisation des rémunérations et pensions, sur la base de la Méthode mise au point par l’Union Syndicale il y a maintenant 50 ans, vise à nous garantir le parallélisme avec les rémunérations des fonctionnaires des États membres

Lire plus
US Flash Octobre 2023
USB - Consilium

Certification; Règles du RCAM et utilité de donner procuration; L’affaire Picard – Quelle signification pour le personneldu SGC?

Lire plus