PUBLIC SERVICE UNIONS TAKE EUROPEAN COMMISSION TO COURT SEEKING TO ENFORCE SOCIAL DIALOGUE

/PUBLIC SERVICE UNIONS TAKE EUROPEAN COMMISSION TO COURT SEEKING TO ENFORCE SOCIAL DIALOGUE

PUBLIC SERVICE UNIONS TAKE EUROPEAN COMMISSION TO COURT SEEKING TO ENFORCE SOCIAL DIALOGUE

On 23 May the European Federation of Public Service Unions (EPSU) will be before the General Court of the European Union bringing a claim against the European Commission for breaching rules on social dialogue (TFEU article 155.2).
The action is the first time that a European trade union organisation has made a claim against the Commission on any social policy.
EPSU is looking to annul an unprecedented decision by the Commission to refuse to make a proposal to Council for implementation of the central government social partners’ agreement on information and consultation rights.
The judgment, expected before the end of the year, will determine the ongoing rights of EU social partners on matters of labour and social law.
The social partners’ agreement was adopted in December 2015 by EPSU, TUNED and former French minister for civil service, Ms Lebranchu, on behalf of EUPAE. It was intended to plug a long-standing gap in EU legislation on information and consultation rights, not the least on restructuring, that exclude central government workers and civil servants.
At the time, the agreement was welcomed by the Commission as a “contribution to a modern and high quality public service across Europe”1. Yet, a little over two years later on 5 March 2018, the Commission rejected2 the social partners’ request to transpose the collective agreement into EU legislation.
The unprecedented decision by the College of Commissioners, completely undermines the November 2017 European Pillar of Social Rights, which reaffirmed the right for all workers to have a say on matters of direct concern to them at work.
The decision:

  • Completely disregards the principle of equal treatment between all workers
  • Continues the denial of fundamental rights to 9.8 million public employees and civil servants leaving them with no say on significant change including the future of their jobs, digitalisation, health and safety and gender equality
  • Bypasses the Council right to adopt (or not) by qualified majority voting a proposed directive on information and consultation rights in central governments
  • Reduces the rights of EU social partners to negotiate legally binding agreements and violates their autonomy, which is a key principle enshrined in the EU treaties.

Jan Willem Goudriaan, General Secretary of EPSU and a co-Applicant in the proceedings said:

The negotiations between EPSU/TUNED and EUPAE, which led to the social partners’ agreement, followed the Commission’s initiation of the procedure for legislative amendment. All parties were aware from the start that EPSU/TUNED were negotiating with a view to securing a social partner agreement, which would then be transposed into a Directive.

The social partners’ agreement is intended to address the discrimination against 9.8 million public employees and civil servants as they face deep changes with no say over their futures. The Commission’s refusal to make a proposal is an unacceptable block on that, and directly contradicts the November 2017 Pillar of Social Rights.

Press Release EPSU vs European Commission

Les syndicats des services publics intentent une action en justice contre la Commission européenne pour faire respecter le dialogue social

/Les syndicats des services publics intentent une action en justice contre la Commission européenne pour faire respecter le dialogue social

Les syndicats des services publics intentent une action en justice contre la Commission européenne pour faire respecter le dialogue social

Le 23 mai, la Fédération syndicale européenne des services publics (FSESP) comparaîtra devant le Tribunal de l’Union européenne pour dénoncer la violation par la Commission européenne des règles relatives au dialogue social (article 155.2 du TFUE).
C’est la première fois qu’une organisation syndicale européenne intente une action contre la Commission en matière de politique sociale.
La FSESP cherche à faire annuler une décision sans précédent de la Commission qui a refusé de proposer au Conseil la mise en œuvre de l’accord des partenaires sociaux des administrations centrales de l’Etat sur les droits à l’information et à la consultation.
L’arrêt, attendu avant la fin de l’année, déterminera les droits fondamentaux des partenaires sociaux de l’UE en matière de droit social et du travail.
L’accord des partenaires sociaux a été adopté en décembre 2015 par la FSESP, coordinatrice de la délégation syndicale TUNED, et l’ancienne ministre française de la fonction publique, Mme Lebranchu, au nom de l’EUPAE, la délégation patronale. Il vise à combler une lacune de longue date de la législation communautaire sur les droits à l’information et à la consultation, notamment en matière de restructuration, qui exclut les agents des administrations publiques.
A l’époque, l’accord avait été salué par la Commission comme une « contribution à un service public moderne et de haute qualité dans toute l’Europe »1. Pourtant, un peu plus de deux ans plus tard, le 5 mars 2018, la Commission a rejeté2 la demande des partenaires sociaux de transposer l’accord des partenaire sociaux en droit communautaire.
La décision sans précédent du Collège des Commissaires sape le socle européen des droits sociaux de novembre 2017, qui réaffirme le droit pour tous les travailleurs d’avoir leur mot à dire sur les questions les concernant directement au travail.

La décision :

  • ne respecte en aucune manière le principe de l’égalité de traitement entre tous les travailleurs ;
  • persiste dans le déni des droits fondamentaux de 9,8 millions de fonctionnaires et d’agents de la fonction publique qui n’ont pas leur mot à dire sur des changements importants,notamment en ce qui concerne l’avenir de leur emploi, la numérisation, la santé et la sécurité et l’égalité de genre ;
  • bafoue le droit du Conseil d’adopter (ou non) à la majorité qualifiée une proposition de directive sur les droits à l’information et à la consultation dans les administrations centrales de l’Etat ;
  • affaibli le droit des partenaires sociaux de l’UE de négocier des accords juridiquement contraignants et viole leur autonomie, qui est un principe clé consacré par les traités de l’UE.

Jan Willem Goudriaan, Secrétaire général de la FSESP et co-demandeur dans la procédure a déclaré :

« Les négociations entre la FSESP/TUNED et l’EUPAE, qui ont abouti à l’accord des partenaires sociaux, ont suivi le lancement par la Commission de la procédure d’amendement législatif. Toutes les parties savaient dès le départ que la FSESP/TUNED négociait en vue d’obtenir un accord des partenaires sociaux, qui serait ensuite transposé dans une directive. »

« L’accord des partenaires sociaux vise à lutter contre la discrimination dont sont victimes 9,8 millions de fonctionnaires et d’agents publics confrontés à des changements profonds mais n’ayant aucun mot à dire sur leur avenir. Le refus de la Commission de faire une proposition est un blocage inacceptable sur ce point, en contradiction directe avec le socle des droits sociaux de novembre 2017. »

Communiqué de presse FSESP c/ Commission européenne

2019-05-23T09:07:04+00:0023 mai 2019|